Home > Regions > North America > PANAMA: A New Immigration Category

PANAMA: A New Immigration Category

By Executive Decree No. 343 of the 16th of May 2012, published in the Official Gazette No. 27038, the government of the Republic of Panama has established an new immigration category, which will enable foreigners of certain nationalities to have a permanent residence in the within the Panamanian national frontiers.

The foreigner must be the citizen of any of the following countries, with which Panama has friendly, professional, economic and investment relations: the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Argentina, the Confederation of Australia, the Republic of Austria, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Kingdom of Belgium, Canada, the Kingdom of Spain, the United States of America, the Republic of Slovenia, the French Republic, the Republic of Finland, the Netherlands, the Republic of Ireland, Japan, the Kingdom of Norway, the Czech Republic, the Confederation of Switzerland, the Republic of Singapore, the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, the Republic of Chile and the Kingdom of Sweden. More…